Hey blogger friends!  I apologize for my inactivity on Thoughts & Pieces, due to a packed schedule.  However, I am back and ready to talk to you about my thoughts on the following questions:

Is loneliness really an issue?  Is it okay to be alone at times?  Is the real issue our fear of what society will think of us if we are spotted alone?

I recently wrote a poem titled “Loneliness” for English at school.  In my poem, I personify loneliness and loneliness plays the role of antagonist, the protagonist being myself.

When I woke up the morning after I wrote the poem, I realized that being alone is not always a bad thing.  Sure, we sometimes crave the presence of others.  However, (and I am repeating myself here) I truly feel that being alone is not always a bad thing.  Especially if you have the comfort of knowing that friends are only a phone call or a few streets away.   And I will click on psychiatrist mode to state, “We all need our alone time.”

To continue my mental debate, I will admit that time at a friend’s house or a day at the mall with my teammates increases my happiness level and lowers my stress level.  I feel refreshed and, most importantly, cared about.

My answers to the first couple questions are looking like “yes and no.”  I guess it depends on your mood.  Thoughts, anyone, before I continue?  Sweet.

I think what plays a huge role in whether we prefer to be alone or not is society.  If you put yourself in the shoes of a high school girl like I am, would you really want the school to walk by and see you by yourself?  I don’t know about you, but I would walk to the nearest person I know and start a conversation.  I am generally an extrovert anyways, but I feel a tiny twinge of guilt admitting that about 5% of my decision would be based on the discomfort of others seeing me alone.  That is a sad fact.

Think about this:  Does it really matter?  Does it really matter if you are seen by the world as alone?  Does this make you weak and vulnerable or strong and independent?

You choose.  And please let me know.  It was a pleasure for me to spend some quality alone time resolving my internal conflicts via writing.  Off to fetch a hot drink and some toast!

thoughts & pieces ♥

